The Dickson Log House, near the Emsworth Locks and Dam, at the corner of Forest and Western (Atlantic) Avenues opens for viewing on the following days:
- Memorial Day, May 25, 11:30 to 1:30
- Summer 2015 open house dates for Dickson Log House
- Saturday, June 27, 9:00 to 11:00 am
- Sunday, July 19, 10:00 am to 12 Noon
- Saturday, August 15, 9:00 to 11:00
- Sunday, September 20 10:00 am to 12 Noon
Built by William Dickson soon after the Indian Treaty of 1795 was signed, the Log House is one of the oldest structures north of the Ohio River. In 1983, it was discovered under layers of siding at a home at 12 Western Avenue. The Ben Avon Area Historical Association (BAAHA) was founded in 1984 to help save the structure.
The US flag flown when the Log House was built is on display when open. It is the only 15-striped US flag, which we also know as the “Star Spangled Banner”.
Today, the Dickson Log House stands as a unique and permanent reminder of the western movement of people and goods, and the pioneering spirit of early residents who settled along the Ohio River.
Members of BAAHA will host the open house events.